Womb Mates

“Pssssst.”

“Who’re you ‘pssssst-ing’ at?”

“You. It not like there’s anyone else in here.”

“I was just checking.”

“You think we going to make it?”

“Mmmmm. Touch and go I’d say, from everything I’ve read.”

“You believe everything you read?”

“Well, why not? I’m not jaded. Yet.”

“Is that you thumping?”

“Here you go blaming me again. She’s at the coffee shop. We always get a bit of a thump when she’s in here. Café Mocha does that to people…. and to almost-people.”

“Put that out.”

“Who me? I’m not smoking. It’s that guy she hangs out with. He smokes around pregnant women.”

“Well …. it’s reaching me and I don’t like it.”

“Put your hand over you mouth.”

“It doesn’t reach, yet.”

“Pssssst.”

“Is that you ‘Pssssst’-ing again?”

“Get back to what we were saying. What’s going to happen to us if she, you know, isn’t glad we’re in here? What if she makes a choice and, you know, we are not in it?”

“We go back. Silly.”

“Back? Where to? Don’t ‘silly’ me,”

“Don’t tell me you forgot already. We go back to where we came from. You know, the Beautiful Place. The Big Place. There’s no rejection there, remember?”

“No. I don’t remember.”

“That’s what they said. They said we wouldn’t remember, but I can still remember some things. Although I’ll admit my memory is slowly fading. I am having a fetus moment.”

“Wait a minute. I remember the gift shop. The day we got loaded with talents and gifts and dreams and ambitions and every good thing. I remember when we were chosen for each other. I remember when we were chosen, both of us, for her. Wow! I remember it all so clearly now. It is all coming back. They said we’d have a place to live and grow and discover everything. They said that although we’d feel far away from the Big Place. They’d be very near to us. Remember they said we’d be very useful and creative and deeply loved every day until our return no matter how we were welcomed on Earth or not.”

“Settle down. You are getting a little hyper. Can you remember, did They said it was safe?”

“No. It’s not safe. I remember distinctly. Exciting yes. Safe? No. They said we’d not like it to be too safe. It’s a human thing you know. Humans like a lot of adventure and thrill and risk. Too much safety doesn’t do humans too much good. Speaking for myself, I cannot wait.”

“Well, you have to. We’re in this together and we get out together.”

“Is that you gulping? Do you think you could respect my boundaries a little? You’re on my side.”

“Hey, you’re a little young to be doing that. Choosing sides and all that.”

“You know what I’m looking forward to? Diapers. I’m tired of swimming around here, naked, in front of you.”

“You’re thinking about diapers. Hey, this is life and death stuff. We’re in a womb for goodness sake. This is a danger zone if ever I knew one and you’re looking forward to wearing diapers?”

“Let’s agree on something?”

“What’s that?”

“Whatever choice she makes. However it pans out, we’ll stick together.”

“If we get out of here alive I’m telling you now, I’m never going to a coffee shop.”

“And I am never going to smoke.”

“You think she going to want us?”

“I don’t know. I hope so. There’s so much to do out there. So much to see. If she doesn’t want us I hope she’ll hang in there and give us to someone who does.”

“Hey, I have another question.”

“What is that?”

“Are we in an American womb?”

“Why do you ask?”

“Well I heard a lot of stories about American wombs.”

“Like what?”

“I don’t remember.”

NOTE: My editor at a major newspaper rejected this column. The original draft ends with: “Hold your breath,” says the one, “here comes the whipped cream,” which she said was a tasteless ending. When I questioned the rejection of the column (she had run more controversial columns from me in the past) she said she thought actually aborting the twins at the end of the column was tasteless. This was very surprising to me, since in the writing of the column, I had never thought the whipped cream was some chemical administered to kill the babies. It was simply the mother drinking her coffee at a coffee shop.

ANOTHER NOTE: This thought was inspired by Janet Starkey who read somewhere (or heard somewhere) the beautiful thought that babies enter the world, forgetting everything of the full knowledge of God they have. Their life mission is to rediscover the truth about God they knew and experienced before they were in the womb.

6 Responses to Womb Mates

  1. Richard, have a Cafe’ Mocha on me… with extra whipped cream. 🙂

    (And keep on writing.)

    Tim

  2. Laura says:

    This was very creative… I enjoyed it. That is so cool to think we had full knowledge of God prior to conception/birth and that we spend our lives seeking that knowledge again. Cool. Very cool. :O)

  3. Cy says:

    I have not read all that many novels or short stories in my 65 years of life, but I have never come across this story situation before. I was very impressed, not to say enchanted. Of course, I do not share the theist belief in a guy in the sky. That is irrelevant. Terrific writing!

    cyquick.wordpress.com

  4. Marcia says:

    I thought the whipped cream was from the coffee … The editor’s response reveals herself. I loved your story. Thank you for writing it and taking the risk of sharing it. I’ve always believed that we are only here for a short time and we spend that time trying to reconnect ourselves with God. We will never be whole again until we’re back with him. I love how you shared Janet’s beautiful thoughts in your story. You write beautifully. Thank you again !!

  5. Tyler Dawbin says:

    Excellent post, Richard. I linked it to my blog and I hope that’s ok w/you!

    You write well, my brother in Christ!

  6. Emily says:

    Very interesting and brilliantly written! Thanks for posting.

    Emily

Leave a Reply

